Change Your Luck | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
The credits for this production have not yet been completed or verified.

Change Your Luck   

George M. Cohan's Theatre, (6/06/1930 - 6/19/1930)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date: Jun 06, 1930    
Closing Date: Jun 19, 1930 Total Performances: 16

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original
Description: A musical in two acts
Setting: Mississippi

Production Staff
Produced by Cleon Throckmorton
Music by J. C. Johnson; Book by Garland Howard; Lyrics by J. C. Johnson; Musical Director: Stanley Bennett; Music and Lyrics of "St. Louis Blues" by W. C. Handy
Directed by Cleon Throckmorton; Choreographed by Lawrence Deas and Speedy Smith
Scenic Design by Cleon Throckmorton; Costume Design by Hilda Farnham
Buster BowieShake a Leg
Yank BronsonShort Dog
Alice CannonEnsemble
Gertie ChambersPercolatin Gertie
Billy ColeThe Four Flash Devils
Sylvia CollinsEnsemble
Lillian CowanLil
Sam CrossProfit Jones
DeWitt DavisEnsemble
Henry DavisHot Pepper Henry
James DavisHot Pepper Jimmy
Ida DeweyEnsemble
Charles H. DownzEnsemble
Dorothy EmbryDottie
Mabel GantMathilda
Charles GillThe Four Flash Devils
Sally GoldmanEnsemble
Sterling GrantRomeo Green
Hamtree HarringtonEbeneezer Smart
Mae HaywoodEnsemble
Luther HendersonEnsemble
Millie HolmesPassionate Sadie
Garland HowardHot Stuff Jackson
Alberta HunterMary Jane
Pauline JacksonEnsemble
Van JacksonHot Pepper Van
J. Lewis JohnsonCaptain Jones
Chester JonesEnsemble
Cora La ReddBandana Babe Peppers
Angeline LawsonEnsemble
Alex LovejoyBig Bill
Emma MaitlandRat Row Sadie
Mary MasonMary
Fred McCoyEnsemble
Chick McKenneyDiamond Joe
James McPetersEnsemble
J. W. MobleyEnsemble
Alberta PerkinsMalindy
Bertha RoeAnsy
Ida RowleyEnsemble
Neeka ShawJosepine Peppers
Louis simmsShake a Hip
Speedy SmithSkybo Snowball
Emma ThomasEnsemble
Jimmy ThomasCateye
Sammy VanCharleston Sam
C. P. WadeThe Four Flash Devils
S. W. WarrenThe Four Flash Devils
Harry WatkinsEnsemble
Aurelia WheeldinTack Annie
Frederick WheeldinEnsemble
Leigh WhipperEvergreen Peppers
Cy WilliamsEnsemble
music by J. C. Johnson; lyrics by J. C. Johnson
(Unless otherwise noted)

ACT 1 Sung By
Roll Dem Bales AlongEnsemble
Sweet Little Baby o' MineJosepine Peppers, Hot Stuff Jackson, Shake a Hip, Shake a Leg and Ensemble
Can't Be Bothered NowBandana Babe Peppers, Four Hot Peppers and Sisters of Mercy
Ain't Puttin' Out Nothin'Big Bill and Malindy
Religion in My FeetSundown Trio, Four Flash Devils, Charleston Sam and Ensemble
You Should KnowJosepine Peppers, Romeo Green and Ensemble
Wasting AwayMary Jane and Diamond Joe
Walk Together, ChildrenProfit Jones and Uplift League
HonestyRomeo Green, Josepine Peppers, Sundown Trio and Dance Sextet
Mr. Mammy ManJosepine Peppers, Hot Stuff Jackson and Girls
My Regular ManBandana Babe Peppers, Charleston Sam and Ensemble
I'm HonestRomeo Green and Sundown Trio
ReprisalEntire Company
ACT 2 Sung By
We're HereMalindy and Ensemble
Low Down DanceDiamond Joe, Charleston Sam and Girls
Low Down DanceSkybo Snowball and Passionate Sadie
Change Your LuckEbeneezer Smart and Mary Jane
PercolatinBandana Babe Peppers and Girls
Travellin'Profit Jones, Mary Jane and Ensemble
St. Louis Blues
(music by W. C. Handy; lyrics by W. C. Handy)
Four Hot Peppers
What Have I Done?Josepine Peppers and Romeo Green
Rhythm FeetShake a Hip and Shake a Leg