IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
The credits for this production have not yet been completed or verified.

There Shall Be No Night   

Alvin Theatre , (4/29/1940 - 8/09/1940)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date:Apr 29, 1940   
Closing Date:Aug 09, 1940 Total Performances:115

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Description: A drama in three acts
Setting: The living room of the Valkonens' house in Helsinki. Early in October, 1938.

Production Staff
Produced by The Playwrights' Company (Maxwell Anderson; S.N. Behrman; Elmer Rice; Robert E. Sherwood; Sidney Howard) and The Theatre Guild
Written by Robert E. Sherwood
Staged by Alfred Lunt
Scenic Design by Richard Whorf; Costume Design by Valentina
Charles Ansley Joe Burnett
Charva Chester Ilma
Montgomery Clift Erik Valkonen
Maurice Colbourne Dr. Ziemssen
Robert Downing Photographer
Lynn Fontanne Miranda Valkonen
Elisabeth Fraser Kaatri Alquist
Thomas Gomez Ben Gichner
Sydney Greenstreet Uncle Waldemar
Claude Horton Sergeant Gosden
William LeMassena Frank Olmstead
Alfred Lunt Dr. Kaarlo Valkonen
Ralph Nelson Photographer
Edward Raquello Major Rutkowski
Phyllis Thaxter Lempi
Brooks West Gus Shuman
Richard Whorf Dave Corween
Pulitzer Prize
winner 1941 for Drama [winner]
Written by Robert E. Sherwood