facebook youtube twitter Pinterest

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Shrek The Musical   

Broadway Theatre, (12/14/2008 - 1/03/2010)
First Preview: Nov 08, 2008 Total Previews: 37
Opening Date: Dec 14, 2008    
Closing Date: Jan 03, 2010 Total Performances: 441

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Description: Musical Comedy in Two Acts

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Philip J. Smith: President; Robert E. Wankel: Executive Vice President)
Produced by DreamWorks Theatricals and Neal Street Productions
Based on the motion picture by DreamWorks Animation; Based on the book 'Shrek!' by William Steig; Book by David Lindsay-Abaire; Music by Jeanine Tesori; Lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire; Musical Director: Tim Weil; Music orchestrated by Danny Troob; Associate Orchestrator: John Clancy; Dance arrangements by Matthew Sklar; Vocal arrangements by Jeanine Tesori and Tim Weil; Incidental Music Arranger: Tim Weil
Directed by Jason Moore; Choreographed by Josh Prince; Associate Director: Peter Lawrence; Associate Choreographer: Sloan Just
Scenic Design by Tim Hatley; Costume Design by Tim Hatley; Lighting Design by Hugh Vanstone; Sound Design by Peter Hylenski; Hair and Wig Design by David Brian Brown; Make-Up Design by Naomi Donne; Puppet Design by Tim Hatley; Associate Scenic Design: Paul Weimer; Associate Costume Design: Jack Galloway; Associate Lighting Design: Philip Rosenberg; Associate Sound Design: Keith Caggiano
General Manager: Stuart Thompson Productions and James Triner; Company Manager: Roeya Banuazizi; Assistant Co. Mgr: Scott Armstrong
Production Manager: Aurora Productions; Production Stage Manager: Peter Lawrence; Stage Manager: Rachel Wolff; Assistant Stage Mgr: Chad Lewis
Conducted by Tim Weil; Associate Conductor: Jason DeBord; Concert Master: Antoine Silverman; Violin: Jonathan Dinklage, Entcho Todorov and Sean Carney; Cello: Jeanne LeBlanc and Anja Wood; Acoustic Bass: Bill Ellison; Flute: Anders Bostrom; Reeds: Charles Pillow, Jack Bashkow and Ronald Jannelli; Trumpet: Anthony Kadleck and Bud Burridge; Trombone: Bruce Eidem and Morris Kainuma; French Horn: Adam Krauthamer; Keyboards: John Deley and Jason DeBord; Guitar: Kenny Brescia and Bobby Baxmeyer; Electric Bass: Luico Hopper; Drums: Warren Odze; Percussion: Shane Shanahan; Musical Coordinator: Michael Keller; Electronic Music Design: Andrew Barrett
Press Representative: Boneau / Bryan-Brown; Advertising: SPOTCo, Inc.; Casting: Tara Rubin Casting; Illusions Consultant: Marshall Magoon; Dance Captain: Justin Greer; Director of Marketing: Clint Bond, Jr.
Sutton Foster
Princess Fiona
Brian d'Arcy James
(Nov 08, 2008 - Nov 08, 2009)
Christopher Sieber
Lord Farquaad
Daniel Breaker
John Tartaglia
Magic Mirror
Dragon Puppeteer
Cameron Adams
Haven Burton
Sugar Plum Fairy
Jennifer Cody
Shoemaker's Elf
Duloc Performer
Blind Mouse
Bobby Daye
Ryan Duncan
Sarah Jane Everman
Ugly Duckling
Blind Mouse
Aymee Garcia
Mamma Bear
Leah Greenhaus
certain performances only
Young Fiona
Lisa Ho
Baby Bear
Blind Mouse
Chris Hoch
King Herold
Big Bad Wolf
Captain of the Guard
Danette Holden
Fairy Godmother
Magic Mirror Assistant
Marty Lawson
Jacob Ming-Trent
Papa Ogre
Marissa O'Donnell
Teen Fiona
Denny Paschall
Peter Pan
Rachel Resheff
certain performances only
Young Fiona
Greg Reuter
Pied Piper
Adam Riegler
Young Shrek
Noah Rivera
White Rabbit
Jennifer Simard
Queen Lillian
Wicked Witch
Magic Mirror Assistant
Rachel Stern
Mama Ogre
Humpty Dumpty
Dennis Stowe
Papa Bear
Swings: Justin Greer, Carolyn Ockert-Haythe, Heather Jane Rolff and David F.M. Vaughn
Standby: Ben Crawford (Shrek)
Understudies: Haven Burton (Princess Fiona, Teen Fiona), Bobby Daye (Donkey), Ryan Duncan (Donkey), Sarah Jane Everman (Princess Fiona, Teen Fiona), Leah Greenhaus (Young Shrek), Chris Hoch (Lord Farquaad), Jacob Ming-Trent (Shrek), Denny Paschall (Pinocchio), Rachel Resheff (Young Shrek), Greg Reuter (Lord Farquaad) and Noah Rivera (Pinocchio)
Tony Award®
2009 Best Musical [nominee]
Produced by DreamWorks Theatricals and Neal Street Productions
2009 Best Book of a Musical [nominee]
Book by David Lindsay-Abaire
2009 Best Original Score Written for the Theatre [nominee]
Music by Jeanine Tesori; Lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire
2009 Best Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Brian d'Arcy James
2009 Best Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Sutton Foster
2009 Best Featured Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Christopher Sieber
2009 Best Orchestrations [nominee]
Danny Troob
2009 Best Orchestrations [nominee]
John Clancy
winner 2009 Best Costume Design of a Musical [winner]
Costume Design by Tim Hatley
Drama Desk Award
2009 Outstanding Musical [nominee]
Produced by DreamWorks Theatricals and Neal Street Productions
2009 Outstanding Book of a Musical [nominee]
Book by David Lindsay-Abaire
winner 2009 Outstanding Actor in a Musical [winner]
Brian d'Arcy James
2009 Outstanding Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Daniel Breaker
2009 Outstanding Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Sutton Foster
2009 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Christopher Sieber
2009 Outstanding Orchestrations [nominee]
Danny Troob
2009 Outstanding Lyrics [nominee]
Lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire
2009 Outstanding Music [nominee]
Music by Jeanine Tesori
winner 2009 Outstanding Costume Design [winner]
Tim Hatley
winner 2009 Outstanding Set Design of a Musical [winner]
Scenic Design by Tim Hatley
2009 Outstanding Director of a Musical [nominee]
Directed by Jason Moore
music by Jeanine Tesori; lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire
Big Bright Beautiful World
Story of My Life
The Goodbye Song
Don't Let Me Go
I Know It's Today
What's Up, Duloc?
Travel Song
Donkey Pot Pie
This Is How a Dream Comes True
Who I'd Be
Morning Person
I Think I Got You Beat
The Ballad of Farquaad
Make a Move
When Words Fail
Morning Person (Reprise)
Build a Wall
Freak Flag
Big Bright Beautiful World (Reprise)
This Is Our Story (Song added after opening night)