IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Bubbling Brown Sugar   

ANTA Playhouse, (3/02/1976 - 12/31/1977)
First Preview: Feb 20, 1976 Total Previews: 12
Opening Date: Mar 02, 1976    
Closing Date: Dec 31, 1977 Total Performances: 766

Category: Musical, Revue, Original, Broadway
Setting: Harlem. Today and between 1920 and 1940.

Production Staff [See More]
Produced by J. Lloyd Grant, Richard Bell, Robert M. Cooper and Ashton Springer; Produced in association with Moe Septee Inc.
Originally produced by Media House; Originally presented by AMAS Repertory Theatre (Rosetta Le Noire, Founder and Artistic Director)
Book by Loften Mitchell; Based on a concept by Rosetta LeNoire; Featuring songs by Lil Armstrong, Eubie Blake, Shelton Brooks, Cab Calloway, Jimmy Cox, Duke Ellington, Benny Goodman, Billie Holiday, Earl "Fatha" Hines, W. C. Handy, Arthur Herzog, Jr., Avon Long, W. Benton Overstreet, Maceo Pinkard, Edgar Sampson, Noble Sissle, Will E. Skidmore, Billy Strayhorn, Renton Tunnah, Thomas "Fats" Waller, Chick Webb and Bert Williams; Featuring songs with lyrics by Eddie de Lange, Billy Higgins, Irving Mills, Loften Mitchell, Mitchell Parish, Andy Razaf, Alex Rogers and Paul Webster; Additional music by Danny Holgate, Emme Kemp and Lillian Lopez; Choral arrangements by Chapman Roberts; Musical Director: Danny Holgate
Directed by Robert M. Cooper; Choreographed by Billy Wilson
Scenic Design by Clarke Dunham; Lighting Design by Barry Arnold; Costume Design by Bernard Johnson; Projection Design by Lucie D. Grosvenor and Clarke Dunham; Sound Design by Joel S. Fichman; Hair Design by Gene Sheppard and Stanley James
General Manager: Ashton Springer; Company Manager: Carolyne A. Jones
Production Stage Manager: Sam Ellis; Production Supervisor: I. Mitchell Miller
Based on a concept by Neal Tate; Pianist: Neal Tate; Music Contractor: Rudy Stevenson; Guitar and Flute: Rudy Stevenson
General Press Representative: Max Eisen; Press Representative: Barbara Glenn and Fred Hoot; Photographer: Bert Andrews
Joseph Attles
Avon Long
John Sage
Josephine Premice
Irene Paige
Vivian Reed
Young Irene
Ethel Beatty
Carolyn Byrd
Gospel Lady
Female Nightclub Singer
Chip Garnett
Male Nightclub Singer
Barry Preston
Barbara Rubenstein
Dutch's Girl
Vernon Washington
Time Man
Murphy Cross
Nedra Dixon
Karen Grannum
Broadway debut
Charlise Harris
Millard Hurley
Dance Alternate
Emme Kemp
Alton Lathrop
Gospel Lady's Son
One of the Solitunes
Lonnie McNeil
Young Checkers
One of the Solitunes
Carol Pennyfeather
Dance Alternate
Stanley Ramsey
Dyann Robinson
Anthony Whitehouse
Newton Winters
Broadway debut
Young Sage
One of the Solitunes
Standby: Vernon Washington (John Sage, Rusty)
Understudies: David Bryant (Bill, Bumpy, Checkers, Dusty, Emcee, Time Man), Carolyn Byrd (Marsha, Young Irene), Murphy Cross (Dutch's Girl, Judy), Nedra Dixon (Ella), Karen Grannum (Marsha, Young Irene), Charlise Harris (Helen), Millard Hurley (Gene, Gospel Lady's Son), Emme Kemp (Carolyn, Female Nightclub Singer, Gospel Lady, Irene Paige), E. Lynn Nickerson (Charlie, Count, Dutch, Tony, Waiter) and Stanley Ramsey (Jim, Male Nightclub Singer)
Theatre World
winner 1976 Award [recipient]
Chip Garnett
winner 1976 Award [recipient]
Vivian Reed
Tony Award®
1976 Best Musical [nominee]
Produced by J. Lloyd Grant, Richard Bell, Robert M. Cooper and Ashton Springer; Produced in association with Moe Septee Inc.
1976 Best Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Vivian Reed
1976 Best Choreography [nominee]
Billy Wilson
Drama Desk Award
1976 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Barry Preston
winner 1976 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical [winner]
Vivian Reed
1976 Outstanding Choreography [nominee]
Billy Wilson
1976 Outstanding Costume Design [nominee]
Bernard Johnson